Help

How to interact with clients in chat

Support agents

To process clients' messages in the chat, the agent must have the status "Online" that is activated by clicking the corresponding button in the top chat menu. If the agent himself didn't set the status "Offline", the status "Online" is maintained for the entire time, when the agent has a Gmail page open and active Internet connection. Also, the online status is saved for 15 minutes after the Gmail page is closed or there is no connection. You can change this time in your Control Panel. To do this, go to "Settings" – "Interface" – "Chat settings", and in the section "Turn off online mode," specify the amount of time, after that the system will automatically transfer the agent to offline mode.



Notifications

When there is a new message from the client in the chat, all agents who are subscribed to this channel are notified. Notification is displayed next to the corresponding channel, and in the list of dialogs of the specific channel. There is also a sound notification (if this setting is enabled in your Control Panel).



There are also pop-up notifications with message previews. Such notifications are shown in the bottom right corner of Gmail if the agent doesn't have the chat window opened when the message arrives. All agents receive notifications of the new dialogues. If you take the dialogue, you will receive notifications of new messages in it.



Chat conversations with clients

To start a dialogue with the client, click the "Accept conversation" button in the bottom chat panel.



You can assign a conversation to another employee. To do this, click the "Assign to an agent" button in the bottom chat panel and select an agent from the list of agents that are currently online.



You can also assign the conversation to another employee after taking it. To do this, click "Assign" in the top chat menu, and select an agent from the list of agents that are currently online.




If one of the agents has already taken the conversation, other agents can't answer it at the same time. If the agent started answering the conversation, but distracted to other duties or closed the tab, after 15 minutes of agent inactivity, the assigned agent is automatically cleared, and this conversation becomes available for the reply to other agents in the "Open" – "New" tab. This time can be changed in the Control Panel in the "Settings" – "Interface" – "Detach my conversations". Also, you can clear the assigned agent manually by clicking the "Assign" button and selecting "clear" option in the top chat menu.



Sharing files

Agents can send files to clients. To send a file click the clip icon in the bottom chat menu. 



Choose the required file(s) and click "Send". The file should not exceed 4 MB. All the sent files are saved in the chat history.



Clients can share files via messengers (Facebook, Viber, Twitter, Skype, Telegram, and Vk.com); those files will appear in the conversation. All the sent and received files are available for download. To do so, click the download icon.

 



Message templates

When communicating with the client, you can use templates for a quick response. Learn more about creating templates here.



Blocking the client

For protection against spammers, you have the option to block the client for a specific time or forever. To block the client, click "Block" in the top chat menu, and select the desired time.



The client will receive a message that he was blocked. If they contact you via one of the messengers, their further messages won't appear in the chat. If a client is blocked in an online chat, they won't be able to type messages text and send them.

When the blocking period expires (except chosen "Forever"), the client will be able to write messages again. You can also unlock the client manually – to do this, click "Unblock" in the top menu of the chat.



Information about the client

The right chat panel shows the information about the client.

  • In online chat: client IP address, browser, screen resolution, browser language, start and current pages, pages opened and time spent on the site.
  • In Vkontakte: client name, link to their VK profile.
  • In Telegram: client name and username in Telegram.
  • In Facebook, Skype and Viber: client name.

Dialogues in chat

Dialogues in the chat are divided into the "Open", "My" and "Finished" tabs.



In the "Open" tab, you can see all active dialogues at the moment. New dialogues will be at the top of the list (under the "New" tab), and dialogs in work will be shown below (under the "Worked on" tab). In the "Open" tab, dialogues are sorted by the time of the last message: old ones are placed above the new ones.

If the agent finished the dialogue by clicking the "Close" button in the top chat menu, the dialogue is moved to the "Finished" tab. Also, the dialogue is automatically terminated after 15 minutes of client inactivity.

The "My" tab displays the dialogues that you are currently working on.



Search in dialogues

There is a search option through the dialogues in Deskun. To find a specific dialogue or message, go to the search tab in the left chat panel, type in the desired text and press Enter. If there are messages in the dialogs, that fit your search conditions, they will be displayed in a list.



Notes

Agents have the option to share internal notes in a chat dialogue. To leave a note, click "Leave a note" in the right chat panel on the "Information" tab, enter the text and click "Save".



The notes can be viewed in the "Notes" tab in the right chat panel.



Creating a ticket from dialogue

You can create a ticket (a task for your employees) from the chat dialogue. In order to create tickets from the dialog messages, you need to create channels with "E-mail support" or "Task management" type. To create a ticket from the dialogue, select the desired messages by pressing and holding the left mouse button. After that, click on "Create a ticket" in the upper chat menu.



In the appearing compose window, fill in the required ticket parameters and click "Send". A ticket will appear on the specified channel.



Also, you can select the messages and click "Copy selected", and then create a ticket manually and paste the copied text. For more information on ticket management, click here.